UW Physics




Principal Investigator

Mark Saffman


Research Assistant

Laura Fleming 2014-



Yuan Sun 2015-

Donald Booth 2015-

Trent Graham 2016-


Ph.D. students

Rb experiment:

Matt Ebert (Walker group)

Minho Kwon

Chris Young 2017-

Cs experiments:

Josh Isaacs

Ho experiment:

Chris Yip 2015-



William Milner 2014-

Josh Cherek 2015-

Sydney Lybert 2015-

Liev Birman 2015-

Andrew Micklich 2016-

Jacob Frondberry 2016-


High school student

Benjamin Kufel

Visiting Faculty

Prof. Jeff Collett, Lawrence University, 2015-16 academic year

Former postdocs

Present position
Tian Xia 2010-2015 USTC, Hefei
Jonathan Pritchard 2013-2015 EPSRC Research Fellow Strathclyde, Scotland
Larry Isenhower 2010-2014 Assistant Professor, Abilene Christian University
Michal Piotrowicz 2011-2014 naval Research Laboratory, Univ. Michigan
Michael Gibbons 2011-2013 ?
Xianli L. Zhang 2010-2013 Microsemi
Vladyslav Ivanov 2011-2013 Teradiode
Gang Li 2010-2012 Shanxi University
Marie Delaney 2005-2006 Precision Photonics, Boulder, Colorado
Deniz Yavuz 2004-2006 Associate Professor, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Pasad Kulatunga 2003-2005 International Horizons College, Dubai

Former graduate students


degree awarded

Thesis Title most recent position
James Hostetter 2016 Laser cooling, trapping and Rydberg spectroscopy of neutral holmium atoms Honeywell
Martin Lichtman 2015 Coherent Operations, Entanglement, and Progress Toward Quantum Search in a Large 2D Array of Neutral Atom Qubits postdoc, Monroe group, JQI
Kara Maller 2015 Single- and two-qubit operations on an atomic qubit array Research Scientist, Georgia Tech Research Institute
Alex Carr 2014 Improving quantum computation with neutral Cesium: radout and cooling on a quadrupole line, conditions for double magic traps and a novel dissipative entanglement scheme High finance
Alex Gill 2014 Progress towards deterministic generation of entangled W-states of neutral atoms using Rydberg blockade Draper Labs
Jinlu Miao 2013 Laser cooling and magneto-optical trapping of Holmium atoms KLA Tencor

Siyuan Zhang


Trapping and Rydberg excitation of a single atom qubit in a blue detuned bottle beam

Linked In

Larry Isenhower 2010 Demonstration of Rydberg blockade, a neutral atom CNOT gate, and entanglement generation Lecturer, Abilene Christian University
Thomas Henage, M.Sc. 2009 Real Time Data Collection and Management for an Atomic Quantum Computing Experiment (T.G. Walker lead advisor) Private industry
Erich Urban 2009

Coherent manipulation of single atom qubits using Rydberg states (T. G. Walker lead advisor)

Medical Physics, UW Madison
Will Williams 2009

Cold atom dynamics in linear and nonlinear optical potentials

Assistant Profressor, Smith College
Todd Johnson 2008

Rabi oscillations and excitation blockade between ground and Rydberg states of single optically trapped Rubidium atoms

Assistant Professor, Saint John's University
Oo-Kaw Lim 2006

Nonclassical correlations and entanglement in intracavity second harmonic generation

Lightwaves 2020
Yingxue Wang 2005

Nonlinear self-focusing in cold cesium atoms

Shell Oil, Houston, Texas

Nils P. Basse

2002 Turbulence in Wendelstein 7-AS plasmas measured by collective light scattering Siemens, Denmark

Morten Bache

2002 Quantum noise and spatio-temporal pattern formation in nonlinear optics Associate Professor, Technical University of Denmark

Peter Lodahl

2000 Spatio-temporal structures in cavity enhanced c(2) frequency conversion processes Professor, Niels Bohr Institute

Nicholas P. Heinemeier, (M. Sc.)

1998 Flow speed measurement using two-point collective light scattering NNIT, Zurich, Switzerland

Former Undergraduates

Erik Myers 2014-2015

Kelly Hoppe 2014-2015

Colton Marti 2012

Ayah Almousa 2012- 2013

Jake Skebba 2012 - 2012

2010-2012 Joe Kowalski -> Hearndon HEP group, Madison

2009-2012 Antoine Martin -> Physics grad student, Purdue

2008-11 Jake Covey -> Jun Ye group, JILA, UC Boulder

2009-11 Benjamin Broerman -> Ice Cube, Madison

2009 Jacob Brian Swan -> Heeger group, Madison

2008-09 Jon Sedlacek -> University of Oklahoma

2008-09 Adam Beardsley -> University of Washington, Seattle

2008-09 Thomas Noel -> University of Washington, Seattle

2006-2008 Stephen Neal -> Epix Systems, History of Science UW Madison

2007-08 Kevin Christie -> University of Minnesota

2006-08 Benjamin Spike -> University of Colorado, Boulder

2004-05 Nicholas Proite -> University of Wisconsin, Madison -> Alfalight

2002-03 Andy Ruland -> University of Texas, Austin